How to stop Facebook from stealing your phone contacts

Delete uploaded phone contacts in Facebook
How to stop Facebook from stealing your phone contacts – image via Facebook

If you have Facebook app on your phone, you may have uploaded information about your contacts beyond just the emails or phone numbers. By default, Facebook enables the option to sync and continuously uploaded contacts on your phone to your Facebook account.

According to Facebook (if you believe them), all info about your contact will be used by Facebook to make friend suggestions for you and others, and also to help Facebook to provide a better service.

You’ll have to turn off Continues Contacts Upload in Facebook app and Sync Contacts in Messenger before delete all of your uploaded phone contacts in Facebook. This step is essential, it will prevent Facebook from re-upload your contact after deleting them.

Advertisement

How to turn off Continues Contacts Upload on Android

  1. On your Android phone, open Facebook app.
  2. Select the three horizontal line.
  3. Select App Settings.
  4. Tap on Continuous Contacts Upload to turn this setting On or Off.

How to turn off Continues Contacts Upload on iPhone or iPad

  1. On your iPhone or iPad, open Facebook app.
  2. Select the three horizontal line.
  3. Select Settings.
  4. Select Account Settings.
  5. Select General.
  6.  Tap Upload contacts to turn this setting On or Off.

How to turn off Sync Contacts on Android, iPhone or iPad

  1. On your smartphone, open Messenger.
  2. At HOME screen, select your profile picture.
  3. Select People.
  4. Tap Sync Contacts to turn this setting On or Off.

How to delete phone contacts in Facebook

To delete phone contacts that you accidentally uploaded to Facebook, you have to log in to Facebook via a web browser.

  1. Open any web browser.
  2. Go to Facebook and login to your account.
  3. Go to Manage Invites and Imported Contacts, here is the URL: https://www.facebook.com/invite_history.php or click this link to open the page.
  4. To remove one or more contacts, select it and press Delete Selected.
  5. To remove all contacts, click Remove All Contacts at the bottom of the page.
  6. Go to Uploading and Managing Your Contacts, here is the URL: https://www.facebook.com/mobile/messenger/contacts/ or click this link to open the page.
  7. Click Delete All.

All your contacts info will be deleted from Facebook. Make sure to turn Off Continues Contacts Upload on every device you use to open Facebook or Messenger.

Advertisement
Articles you may like
Leave your comment

Leave a Reply

Barzrul Tech uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience while browsing the site.Read more >>
+
Share via