How to delete Sent WhatsApp messages

Advertisement
Delete Sent messages in WhatsApp
WhatsApp

Here’s how you can delete Sent WhatsApp messages on Android and iOS. You can delete a specific message you’ve sent to either a group or an individual chat.

This feature is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong recipient or group or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

Please take note on the following:

  • In order for messages to be successfully deleted, both you and all your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp.
  • Recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if deletion wasn’t successful.
  • You won’t be notified if deleting for everyone wasn’t successful.
  • You only have about an hour after you’ve sent a message to Delete for Everyone.
Advertisement

Delete Sent WhatsApp messages on Android

  1. Open WhatsApp.
  2. Tap and hold the message you wanted to delete.
    • optionally you can tap more message if you want to delete multiple messages at once.
  3. Tap the trash bin icon at the top of the chat window.
  4. You will have two options:
    • Delete for Medelete the message only in your chat, recipient still can read the message
    • Delete for Everyonedelete the message in your chat and the recipient chat

Delete Sent WhatsApp messages on iOS

  1. Open WhatsApp.
  2. Tap and hold the message you wanted to delete.
    • optionally you can tap more message if you want to delete multiple messages at once
  3. Tap the trash bin icon at the top of the chat window.
  4. If prompted, tap More >> Delete.
  5. You will have two options:
    • Delete for Medelete the message only in your chat, recipient still can read the message
    • Delete for Everyonedelete the message in your chat and the recipient chat

For Delete for Everyone, if successfully delete, the selected message(s) will disappear from your chat and for everyone in your recipients’ chats will be replaced with “This message was deleted“.

Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

Advertisement
Articles you may like
Leave your comment

Leave a Reply

Barzrul Tech uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience while browsing the site.Read more >>
+
Share via