WhatsApp has added more privacy features to our chat. With View Once, you can now send photos and videos that disappear from your WhatsApp chat after the recipient has opened them once.
To use View Once, please update WhatsApp to the latest version available for your device. Here’s the list of View Once features:
- Media will not be saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery.
- Once you send a view once photo or video, you won’t be able to view it again.
- You can’t forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with view once media enabled.
- You can only see if a recipient has opened a view once photo or video if they have read receipts turned on.
- If you don’t open the photo or video within 14 days of it being sent, the media will expire from the chat.
- You must select view once media each time you want to send a view once photo or video.
- View once media can be restored from backup if the message is unopened at the time of back up. If the photo or video has already been opened, the media will not be included in the backup and can’t be restored.
See also how to hide WhatsApp Last Seen status.
How to send View Once photos or videos on WhatsApp
- Open WhatsApp app.
- Tap a new or existing chat to start a conversation.
- Tap on Camera or select an existing photos or videos from your gallery.
- Once selected the photos or videos, tap on the circle to the right of the chatbox.
- Tap on Send.
Once the photos or videos have been opened once by the recipient, they will disappear from your WhatsApp chat. It’s fun to use this feature.
Note: If the recipient takes a screenshot or screen recording of the media before it disappears, you won’t be notified. Also if the recipient takes a photo or video of the media with a camera or other device before it disappears. Encrypted media may be stored for a few weeks on WhatsApp’s servers after you’ve sent it.