How to stop sending read receipts in iMessage

iMessage - Send Read Receipts

Stop sending read receipts in iMessage

Learn how to stop sharing or sending read receipts in iMessage. By default, this feature is enabled, once you — receiver open the message, iMessage will automatically send the read receipt to the sender to let them know that you have opened and read the message.

The feature is also available in WhatsApp app which has been covered in my previous post, you can read how to disable WhatsApp blue ticks and read receipt here. Both apps have a very similar read receipt concept. The purpose is to let the sender know their message has been opened and read by the receiver.

However, if you prefer to not let the sender know if you have opened and read their message, fortunately, you can disable the feature. There is also an option to enable the feature on selected sender. Take note, if you disable this feature, that means you will not receive the read receipt either when your messages have been read by the receiver.

How to stop sending read receipts in iMessage

As mentioned above, you can stop sending read receipts to all sender and/or you can enable the option only to selected sender.

How to turn OFF read receipt to all sender

To turn off read receipts to all sender, go to Settings > Messages > Send Read Receipts. Toggle the switch ON and OFF to make sure that the Send Read Receipts option is disabled.

For Mac user, you can change the setting by opening the app and go to Messages > Preferences > Accounts. Select the email address associated with your iMessage account and make sure that the Send Read Receipts option is not checked.

How to turn ON read receipts to selected sender

In iOS 10, you can actually selectively turn on the read receipts. To do this, launch the iOS Message app and open the conversation you want to send read receipts to. Tap the i button on the top right-hand corner and toggle Send Read Receipts ON and OFF to make sure the option is enabled.

Note: As I mentioned in the above, when it is turned OFF. You will not be able to receive the read receipt either for all messages you sent. It is sort of fair usage, you will not be able to receive the receipt if you are not sending any.

Get stuck in the middle or if you have any questions, let me know your thought in the comment below. Appreciate the knowledge, let your friends know about this post. Like and share this post with your friends. Click the button below.
Barzrul's Tech Blog uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. Read more >>
+