Learn how to disable WhatsApp blue ticks and read receipts. By default, this feature is enabled. This feature enables the sender to know whether their messages have been read by the receiver or not. It depends on how you are looking into the features, they can be useful or/and not.
If I am the sender, after sending a message I will see one grey tick which means the message is already sent. When I see double grey ticks, I know the other party already received the message. And when I see double blue ticks, I know the message has been seen (and ignored).
As you can see, the main purpose of the blue ticks and read receipts — similar to iMessage. But, if you feel like you don’t want the sender to know that you have seen the message without replying, there is a workaround to disable these features.
How to disable WhatsApp blue ticks and read receipts
The steps to disable the feature are similar on any Android and iOS device.
Disable WhatsApp blue ticks and read receipt on Android and iOS
Open your WhatsApp, tap on the three-dot menu in the upper right, go to Setting > Account > Privacy. Here you will find a lot of privacy options. At the Read receipts options, you can disable it by unchecking the box. Take note that this setting is not applicable for group conversation.
After making the change, you will notice the tick is no longer visible on any of your messages. It will affect all messages in your WhatsApp app.
Note: If you disable this feature — sending blue ticks and read receipt to the senders, you will not be able to use the same feature either. Which means you will not see blue ticks and receive any read receipt from any of your message sent to others.