How to enable or disable Restricted Mode in YouTube

YouTube Restricted Mode setting
YouTube Restricted Mode settings / YouTube

Learn how to enable or disable Restricted Mode in YouTube to help screen out any objectional material or inappropriate content from being seen by your family members on YouTube.

Advertisement

There are too many videos on YouTube and many of them are inappropriate content. However, YouTube uses community flagging, age restrictions, and other signals to identify and filter out all those potentially inappropriate content.

So, if you think there is potentially objectional content and you prefer not to see or don’t want others in your family to see it on YouTube. You can turn the Restricted Mode On or Off.

Note: Restricted Mode is available in all languages, but due to potential cultural sensitivities, the effectiveness of restriction may vary.

See also how to block specific YouTube channel on Android.

Advertisement

How to enable or disable Restricted Mode in YouTube

Restricted Mode works on the browser or device level, so you must turn it On for each browser you use. If your browser supports multiple profiles, you must enable it for each profile.

On desktop computer

  1. Open any internet browser
  2. Go to YouTube website.
  3. Log in to your account.
  4. Click on your profile picture.
  5. Select Restricted Mode.
  6. Toggle the Activate Restricted Mode On or Off.

This will enable the restricted mode on the current browser.

On Android

  1. Open YouTube app/
  2. Sign in to your account.
  3. On the top right, tap on the three dots menu.
  4. Select Settings.
  5. Select General.
  6. Turn Restricted mode On or Off.

On iOS

  1. Open YouTube app.
  2. Sign in to your account.
  3. In the top right, tap on the three dots menu.
  4. Tap on Settings.
  5. Tap on Restricted Mode Filtering.
  6. Turn Restricted Mode On or Off:
    1. Don’t filter: Restricted Mode off
    2. Strict: Restricted Mode on

Once enabled or disabled, Restricted Mode remains On regardless of whether you’re logged in or not (and if another person logs into a different YouTube account).

Make sure to sign out of the account that turned Restricted Mode on so that other users of the computer can’t change the setting.

Advertisement

Let me know your thought

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Barzrul Tech uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience while browsing the site.Read more >>
+